Wimbledon Championships Players and the prize money they have won

Wimbledon is one of the top viewing sporting events in the world. In every passing year, the demand for this sport is increasing among the sports lovers across the world. Wimbledon is the dream tournament that every tennis player wishes to win.

The name of this tournament was given as Wimbledon as it is played at the All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club in Wimbledon, London. The first Wimbledon Championship was held on 1877 and since then, it has become a major sporting event.

All Time Best Wimbledon Player

There are many major names in the field of Tennis, but, the Wimbledon Champion is considered as the best among all of them. This tournament is played in various formats like Mens Singles and Doubles, Women Singles and Doubles, Mixed Doubles.

Rodger Fedrer

Roger Federer - Wimbledon Champion 2019

Roger Fedrer is the record holder of the most numbers of Men’s Singles Titles. He won the championship 8 times i.e. from 2003 to 2007 and 2019, 2012, 2017. He also shares the record of most consecutive victories with Björn Borg who also won 5 consecutive years from 1976 to 1980.

The record of Roger Fedrer is not restricted to Wimbledon only. He has also six Australian Open Titles along with five US Open Titles and one French Open Titles. He is among the only eight men to achieve a Career Grand Slam.

His total income from the prize money crosses over USD 120 millions.

Martina Navratilova

Martina Navratilova - 2019 Wimbledon Champion Player - infointrends

Martina Navratilova holds the record of 9 times Wimbledon Champion. She has 18 Gland Slam Singles titles, 31 major women doubles titles along with 10 major mixed double titles. Combining all of this, she has the record of the most number of Grand Slams title won by any player male or female.

Her total income from the prize money is over USD 20 millions.

Related Article – Top 10 Best Rugby team of the world

Current Wimbledon Champions

Novak Djokovic

Novak Djokovic - Wimbledon Championship 2019

Novak won the 2018 Men’s Single Wimbledon Championship by defeating Kevin Anderson. He won 13th Grand Slam Titles and 4 Wimbledon. The prize money he won was 3.4 Crores GBP.

Angelique Kerber

Wimbledon Championshion - Angelique Kerber | InfoinTrends

She defeated Sereba Williams to get her first Wimbledon Trophy. She got 3 Grand Slam Women’s Singles titles.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *